About Us

The Association for Passive Optical LAN is a non-profit organization composed of manufacturers, distributors, integrators, and consulting companies who are actively involved in the Passive Optical LAN marketplace. Our members support the growth and education of the Passive Optical LAN industry and are focused on formulating solutions on how best to market, install, educate, and support this burgeoning field.

Our Mission

The Association for Passive Optical LAN advocates the education and global adoption of passive optical networks for the local area network marketplace.

Board of Directors

  • Board Chairman: Thomas C. Ruvarac, Tellabs
  • Director, Chairman-Elect: Alan Bertsch, Qypsys
  • Director: Monique Apter, Zhone
  • Director: Sean Kelly
  • Director: Matt Miller, CallisonRTKL
  • Director: Paul Mills, 3M
  • Director: Kevin Morgan, Corning
  • Director: Tom Napoli, Noovis


  • President: Thomas C. Ruvarac, Tellabs
  • Vice-President: John Short, IBM
  • Secretary and Treasurer: Jimmy Cuffe, Qypsys


The Association has currently organized our members into four Committees focused on a variety of activities.

Membership Committee:

  • Paul Mills (3M)

Technology Committee:

  • Sean Kelly, Chair (CommScope)
  • Matt Miller, Secretary (Leidos)
  • Lonnie Barrington (Zhone)
  • Bob Basile (Corning)
  • Dustin Bateman (VT Group)
  • David Bell (Tellabs)
  • Luis Farrolas (IBM)
  • Jimmy Gagnon (EXFO)
  • Brett Glisson (Qypsys)
  • Steve Heuber (Noovis)
  • Paul Kopera (CSC)
  • Aaron Labourdette (A.J. Labourdette, Inc.)
  • Blaine Overstreet (Nokia)
  • Aaron Reale (VT Group)
  • Stanley Ruth (Henkels & McCoy)
  • Mike Watts (Noovis)
  • Mike Wilson (Tellabs)

Marketing Committee:

  • John Hoover, Chair (Tellabs)
  • Alan Bertsch (Qypsys)
  • Kevin Borders (Alpha)
  • Jamey Calloway (Optical Cable Corporation)
  • Cemil Canturk (Nokia)
  • Joe Chapin (3M)
  • Betsy Conroy (The Siemon Company)
  • Laura Godfrey (Optical Cable Corporation)
  • Arria Guilan (CommScope)
  • Caraline McGinnis (VT Group)
  • John Short (IBM)
  • Sarah Sousa (Zhone)
  • Shawn Taylor Zelman (VT Group)
Founding Members

View All Members


Request Membership